Visiting Stanstead
 
Local attractions
The Town of Stanstead and its surrounding area are full of attractions which will give the whole family unforgettable memories.

L'Aréna Pat Burns

Named in honour of legendary NHL coach, the late Pat Burns, the state-of-the-art 8 million dollar arena is built on the grounds of the magnificent campus of the very illustrious Stanstead College and was officially inaugurated on September 23rd, 2011, during an opening ceremony attended by Mrs. Line Burns and their children as well as senator Jacques Demers, MNA Pierre Reid, Henry Richard and numerous other dignitaries and hockey players, among which Guy Carbonneau and Patrice Brisebois who were also in attendance as players in the inaugural game between Stanstead College's team and the Légendes du Canadien.

27, rue Pat Burns
Stanstead (Québec) J0B 3E0
Tél.: 819 876-2371
http://www.patburnsarena.com


Colby-Curtis Museum

Founded in 1929, the Colby-Curtis Museum is housed in Carrollcroft, a magnificent heritage building built in 1859 by Charles Carroll Colby. Here we find some 4,235 artifacts in the areas of ethnology, military history, furniture, decorative and fine arts, costumes and textiles. Visitors may take a tour of the house and learn about local history and about the history of the Colby family.

The museum offers school activities for primary children, which are available on demand. A tea room is open from June to September in the solarium and in December in museum's annex. Please take note that the Museum is a stop on the Township's Trail.

535 Dufferin Street
Stanstead, Québec, J0B 3E0
Tel. : 819 876-7322
FAX : 819 876-7936
www.colbycurtis.ca

Granite Central

Granite Central is an impressive exhibition on granite in all its forms: how the stone is formed, how a quarry works, stone cutting, polishing, stone engravers and sculptors, transportation of granite and finally, the greatest achievements in granite.

Being the "Granite Capital of Canada", Stanstead is proud of this interpretation centre which spotlights an industry that has been around since 1865 and which provides about half of the Town's employment. Granite Central is a stop on both the Townships Trail and the Circuit Découvertes sans frontières.

14 Notre-Dame West
Stanstead, Québec, J0B 3E2
Tel. : 819 876-5576
FAX : 819 876-7704
www.granitcentral.ca

Bleu Lavande

Located 10 km from Stanstead, Bleu Lavande offers visitors different natural products made from lavender grown on premises. Whether for the kitchen, the body or the home, the boutique of Bleu Lavande offers a range of items with the irresistible fragrance of lavender.

The entire month of July is flowering season at its peak and visitors will be able to contemplate vast fields of lavender. Guided tours of about 2 hours are also offered throughout the summer.

891Narrow Road (247 Road)
Fitch Bay, Québec, JOB 3E0
Tel. : 1 888 876-5851
FAX : 819 876-2574
www.bleulavande.ca


Haskell Library & Opera house

Built between 1901 and 1904 on the boundary line separating Canada and the U.S., The Haskell Free Library and Opera House was Martha Haskell's and her son Horace Haskell's gift to the communities of Stanstead, Quebec and Derby Line, Vermont.

The Haskell is unique in the world. Patrons from either side of the border may enter the building without passing through customs. The international boundary is marked off with a black line across the floor of the building. The entrance and half of the reading room are situated in the U.S., while the other half of the reading room and all of the books are on the Canadian side.

Upstairs in the Opera House, the stage is in Canada, but most of the seats are in the U.S. Classified as a historic site by the governments of Canada, the United States, and the province of Quebec, the building is famous not only for its location, but also for its lavish interiors, architecture, and unique ambiance.

The Library contains about 20,000 books, plus periodicals, videos, and educational material. A French-language section contains another 4,500 volumes. The Opera House contains the original curtains, sets, and props, designed and painted by Boston scenery painter Erwin LaMoss in 1902, the last of his works known to survive.

1 Church Street
Stanstead, Québec, J0B 3E2
Tel. : 819 876-2471
FAX : 802 873-3634
www.haskellopera.com

Stanstead College

Established in 1872, Stanstead College is a private boarding school with an international reputation. Visitors can take a guided tour of the campus during the summer between 10:00 A.M. and 3:00 P.M. by appointment. Tours are available during the week, and last from 20 to 30 minutes.

450 Dufferin Street
Stanstead, Quebec, J0B 3E0
Tel. : 819 876-7891
FAX : 819 876-5891
www.stansteadcollege.com

Weir Memorial Park

Weir Memorial Park is an enchanting site located just a few kilometres from Stanstead, near Ogden: its public beach, campground, snack bar and playground are at the disposal of the entire family.

Cedarville Road
Ogden, Québec
Tel. : 819 876-7157

Dufferin Heights Country Club

It's rare that a golf course attracts visitors just for the view but Dufferin HeightsCountry Club at an elevation of 1500 feet (457 meters) certainly does this.

4115, rte 143
Stanstead, Québec, J0B 3E0
Tel.: 819 876-2113
www.dufferinheightscountryclub.com
 
 

 
introduction page | the city | citizens services | visit Stanstead | economic life | contact | sitemap
Conception : PenseWeb.com & Simbole